Why is there a list of the NEW Seven Wonders of the World you ask? Well let’s take it back to a time before we were all born, in 5th century B.C. It was during this time when seven architectural marvels made the cut to make up the original Seven Wonders of the Ancient World. Unfortunately, because these structures are so ancient, 6 out of the 7 sites haven’t existed for hundreds of years. Global travellers yearning to fulfil their wanderlust got frustrated by the Seven Wonders being only imaginative, and decided to come up with a list of the NEW Seven Wonders of the World.

Over 100 million people from all over the globe took part in the largest poll ever, to narrow down a list of 200 nominations and come up with the new Seven Wonders of the World. After this 6 year voting period had concluded, on the 7th of July 2007 (07/07/07), these seven special sites were deemed the new Seven Wonders of the World.

1. Chichen Itza | Yucatan, Mexico



Researchers have recently discovered a large Cenote or sinkhole cave, that lies under the Maya temple in Chichen Itza.

 2. Christ The Redeemer Statue | Rio De Janeiro, Brazil


The statue is 30 metres (98 ft) tall, not including its 8 metre (26 ft) pedestal, and its arms stretch 28 metres (92 ft) wide.  It is approximately two-thirds the height of the Statue of Liberty from base to torch.

 3. The Great Wall of China | Huairou, China



Contrary to popular belief, the Great Wall of China can not be seen from space with the naked eye.

 4. Machu Picchu | Peru



The spectacular Inca city of Machu Picchu stretches over an impressive 5-mile distance, with more than 3,000 stone steps that connect its many different levels.

 5. Petra | Jordan



Petra is also commonly called the Rose City due to the color of the stone of which it is carved from.

 6. The Colosseum | Rome, Italy



The Colosseum could hold, approximately between 50,000 and 80,000 spectators, having an average audience of some 65,000;  it was used for epic gladiatorial and mock sea battles.

 7. Taj Mahal | Agra, India


 The Taj Mahal was originally built by Emperor Shah Jahan as a tomb to hold his wife.

Add a comment

*Please complete all fields correctly